Sunday, December 20, 2015

Ella Raines with the Four Freedoms

Ella Raines with a list of the Four Freedoms.The flag she's holding is the "Four Freedoms flag", with four stripes representing the Four Freedoms.

The Four Freedoms were goals articulated by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt on January 6, 1941. In an address known as the Four Freedoms speech(technically the 1941 State of the Union address), he proposed four fundamental freedoms that people "everywhere in the world" ought to enjoy:
  1. Freedom of speech
  2. Freedom of worship
  3. Freedom from want
  4. Freedom from fear
Roosevelt delivered his speech 11 months before Japan bombed Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, bringing the United States into the second World War. Concerns about the war were responsible for the inclusion of the last two items, which went beyond the traditional Constitutional values protected by the U.S. Bill of Rights

We are still supposed to have the same Four Freedoms today, but the government doesn't talk about them any more.



No comments:

Post a Comment